Quarrel

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

.

“We make out of the

quarrel with others,

rhetoric,

but of the quarrel

with ourselves,

poetry.”

.

~ William Butler Yeats

.

Elfje:

.

Who

does not

quarrel with themselves

could have, should have

maybe

.

Haiku:

.

why must I grow up

seasons of our discontent

choices, choices, luck

.

Poem:

.

is there a reason, is there a rhyme

life moves on in spite of me

did I, could I, have missed my prime

did I learn nothing on my father’s knee

.

growing old is not an option

acting mature is a matter of opinion

steadily we rely more upon the naproxen

the hot toddy and a nap our best companion

.

been there, done that

I just can’t remember where or when

reduced to the trivial chitchat

the weather is the common denominator for all men

.

look in the mirror and have a good laugh

don’t take yourself so damn serious

a giggle a day will cut the aging in half

only God can explain the mysterious

.

Today is the only day we have to live

enjoy it on the positive, laughable,  side

try your hardest to better than just survive

sleep well my friend, saying I tried, I tried. . .

.

.

.

..

About merb010

Spring Hill, FL, United States Two nice old folks just hanging out, not hurting a bug or anything larger. The years have been kind to us and we now we are enjoying our golden years reading and writing. We are grateful for the God given talents that we now use to help others. View all posts by merb010

Leave a Reply

